Software guide · Tutoring centers & tutors

Tutoring center software: lessons, attendance and billing

$236.99 / monthworked example · $2,843.88 per yearSee cost & ownership ↓

Tutoring businesses coordinate learners, guardians, tutors, rooms and lesson entitlements. Compare systems by tracing one real week from scheduling and attendance through parent billing and tutor pay, including the cancellation rules between those steps.

Tutoring businesses coordinate learners, guardians, tutors, rooms and lesson entitlements. Compare systems by tracing one real week from scheduling and attendance through parent billing and tutor pay, including the cancellation rules between those steps.

The cost case · Tutoring centers & tutors

What the software costs—and where your margin can improve.

Start with the bill and one costly workflow. The comparison is straightforward: recurring software costs you can actually remove, minus the hosting, AI, integrations and upkeep a replacement needs. Time saved is a separate gain, and only becomes margin when the business can use it.

Current software · researched prices

$237/ month

$2,844 a year in this worked example

1 location, 250 active students, 4 instructors, wants online registration + a website

  • Teachworks Growth base$48/mo
  • 1,000 student-lessons/mo at $0.189$189/mo

See the vendor’s published price ↗

A source-priced scenario, not a claim about your invoice. Check required modules, usage fees and your negotiated terms.

A focused tool · under your control

Pay for the parts this workflow needs.

One time: map the rules, build, test edge cases, move only the data needed and train the people who use it.

Each month: affordable hosting, coding-AI usage, any database or integrations, backups and maintenance. Price these for the actual application; a $0 or low hosting tier is not the total cost.

You control: the code repository, domain, data and service accounts. Someone on your side owns updates, access, recovery and support.

MarginVendor costs removed − the replacement’s full monthly operating cost.
Admin timeFirst target: Family account structure. Create two siblings and bill their shared guardian. Confirm each student’s schedule and lesson history remains distinct.
Business valueDurable, documented margin can strengthen a business; buyers still assess risk and whether someone else can run the workflow.

The exact replacement cost depends on scope and usage. Bring your invoice and one frustrating task; we’ll map what can stay, what could be owned and the costs to verify.

Get a free 30-minute cost and workflow review

What a safe switch means for tutoring centers & tutors

Build the member and class workspace, then enrollment, attendance and renewals. Verify payment authorization separately before moving recurring charges.

Use the buying and migration brief above to check records, edge cases and acceptance tests before deciding what to replace.

Other names and related business types

These terms appear in the same research category. Check your specific workflow before treating products as interchangeable.

A shortlist to investigate

Compare by the job you need done

Fit notes are our assessment of the linked vendor descriptions, not hands-on product reviews. Feature sources checked Oct 2, 2026; pricing records below retain their own dates.

TutorCruncher

A tutoring agency or center evaluating scheduling, lesson billing and tutor payments.

TutorCruncher documents client management, lesson scheduling, billing and payroll workflows.

Before choosing

Test parent payer accounts, lesson reports and the rules for advance credits versus arrears.

Vendor documentation ↗

Teachworks

A tutoring business coordinating staff, recurring lessons, packages and accounts.

Teachworks describes scheduling, group lessons, packages, staff management and payment integrations.

Before choosing

Create a repeating group session and check attendance, cancellation and package balances.

Vendor documentation ↗

TutorCruncher US

A US operation that wants to assess its location-specific billing and payment workflow.

Its US product page outlines tutoring business functions and US-market payment options.

Before choosing

Confirm fees, payroll treatment and availability for your legal entity and region in writing.

Vendor documentation ↗

A practical buying brief

Connect the calendar to the student and family ledger

Use these questions with a vendor or a builder. The point is to see your own work completed, including the awkward cases.

Questions to ask and a concrete way to test the answer
What mattersAsk thisThen demonstrate this
Family account structureCan one guardian manage multiple students while invoices and permissions stay clear?Create two siblings and bill their shared guardian. Confirm each student’s schedule and lesson history remains distinct.
Attendance and entitlementDoes attendance, cancellation or a no-show affect the package and tutor pay as intended?Mark one lesson attended, one late-cancelled and one make-up. Inspect parent balance and tutor compensation for each.
Recurring groupsCan a recurring class handle room capacity, tutor substitution and school breaks?Add a student to an ongoing group, insert a holiday and substitute a tutor for one date. Check conflicts and notifications.
Lesson reportingCan the tutor submit a report before a lesson is invoiced or paid?Require a report for one lesson. Verify the parent receives the intended update and billing follows the agreed completion rule.
Take these questions to your next demo.

A text checklist with space to record what works, what fails and what needs a follow-up.

Download buying checklist ↓

Your demo script

Reconcile one busy tutoring week

This synthetic week tests the connections between students, guardians, class attendance and payment rules.

  1. Create a guardian account with two students, each taking one individual lesson and attending a shared small-group class.
  2. Cancel one session within the late-cancellation window and reschedule another as a make-up. Record attendance and tutor notes for the remaining lessons.
  3. Generate the family invoice and tutor payment report. Explain every credit, cancellation, completed session and outstanding report.
  4. Change one lesson to a substitute tutor and confirm the parent notification, room capacity and payroll assignment update without altering unrelated sessions.

Plan a controlled data move

Import guardian-to-student relationships, active schedules, tutor rates, package balances, attendance history, open invoices and make-up entitlements. Reconcile a sample family account and tutor pay period before inviting families into a portal.

Where a first build could stop

Scheduling and lesson records should support instruction, not imply a student outcome. Limit access to sensitive student notes, define retention and consent policies for minors, and confirm that automated billing matches your written cancellation terms.

Compare costs, recovered admin time and margin on this page →

What does the software cost?

For tutoring centers & tutors, our worked example runs $236.99 a month, which is $2,843.88 a year. The research includes software with a bundled website; confirm any hosting or setup charges. 5 of 23 vendors have quote-only pricing in our research.

See the worked example: 1 location, 250 active students, 4 instructors, wants online registration + a website
Software auditTutoring centers & tutors

1 location, 250 active students, 4 instructors, wants online registration + a website

  1. Teachworks Growth base$47.99/moKeep
  2. 1,000 student-lessons/mo at $0.189$189/moKeep
Per month$236.99
Per year$2,843.88
Prices from teachworks.com

Where the money goes

Two lines: the $47.99 Growth base, and $189 for 1,000 student-lessons at $0.189 each. Teachworks doesn't sell a website, so the center pays for one somewhere else. Solo tutors are in a different spot: TutorBird is $16.95 a month with a website included and $4.95 per extra tutor.

What to keep

If you're on TutorBird, keep it. At $16.95 a month with unlimited students, a website and no setup fee, there's little for an audit to cut.

What to verify

Ask providers to demonstrate this workflow using your edge cases. Check which plan includes each step, what costs extra and how your records can be exported.

20 vendors and options researched for tutoring centers & tutors

Researched vendors and published prices

Listed A to Z, not ranked. Prices and every quoted catch come from each vendor's own pricing page or terms, linked and dated. 5 have quote-only pricing in our research.

1

Bitpaper

Quote only

Online whiteboard for tutors.

Price scales with
not in page HTML
Website
Not stated
2ClassCardClass and studio management for academies, tutoring centers and instructors.From $99/mo3iCare Software (Orgamation Technologies)Childcare software since 1997: billing, attendance, parent communication for childcare centers, afterschool, camps, Montessori, drop-in, ABA/respite and tutoring.From $99/mo4LearnCubeVirtual classroom software for online tutors and online schools.Free planPaid from $19/mo5LessonspaceOnline tutoring whiteboard and video classroom for tutors and tutoring agencies.From $9/mo6Oases OnlineTutor and tuition management software for tutoring centers, test prep and learning centers (since 2003).From $99/mo7Pencil SpacesVirtual classroom with integrated whiteboard, video and scheduling for tutors and tutoring businesses.From $4/mo8PreplyOnline tutoring marketplace, mainly languages.Free plan9Sawyer (Sawyer for Business / hisawyer.com)Registration, scheduling and payments for children's activity businesses, with a parent-facing marketplace.From $149/mo
10

SkooliNo longer operating

No US price published

Former online tutoring marketplace.

Website
Not stated
11

Superprof

No US price published

Tutor marketplace.

Price scales with
unknown
Website
Not stated
12

TakeLessonsNo longer operating

No US price published

Former lessons/tutoring marketplace.

Website
Not stated
13TeachworksScheduling, billing and payroll software for tutoring companies, music schools and education businesses.From $16.49/mo14Tutor LMS (Themeum)WordPress LMS plugin for selling courses and tutoring.Free plan15TutorBirdAll-in-one business management for tutors: scheduling, invoicing, student portal and website (Canadian; sister product of My Music Staff).From $16.95/mo16TutorCruncherTutoring company management: scheduling, invoicing, tutor payroll, online lessons.From $30/mo
17

TutorMeNo longer operating

No US price published

Former online tutoring marketplace.

Website
Not stated
18

TutorOcean

Quote only

Tutoring marketplace and tutoring-center platform.

Price scales with
not in page HTML
Website
Not stated
19

Varsity Tutors (Nerdy)

Quote only

Tutoring marketplace/platform that contracts tutors.

Price scales with
not published
Website
Not stated
20Wyzant (IXL Learning)Tutor marketplace (a division of IXL Learning) where independent tutors list and are paid through the platform.Free plan

Specialist agencies in this business category

These agencies appear in the business-category research but do not yet have a full software pricing profile. Rates are shown only when verified from the provider's own source.

Noble House Media

Price basis: Quoted marketing services for independent car-rental companies

Quote requiredChecked Oct 2, 2026
Source ↗

Qeystone

Price basis: Quoted search, advertising and follow-up systems for tutoring centers

Quote requiredChecked Oct 2, 2026
Source ↗

GK & Partners

Price basis: Project or monthly retainer; obtain written scope

Price not verifiedChecked Oct 3, 2026
Source ↗

Questions owners ask

Can tutoring software bill a parent for multiple children?

Many systems support family relationships, but demonstrate invoice grouping, student-level lesson history and the permissions each adult receives.

How should a cancelled lesson affect tutor pay?

Translate your contract and cancellation policy into explicit scenarios, then verify attendance status, make-up credit, parent charge and tutor compensation separately.

How much does tutoring software cost?

TutorBird starts at $16.95 a month with unlimited students. Teachworks charges a base fee plus a per-lesson fee: $16.49 plus $0.320 per student-lesson on Starter, $47.99 plus $0.189 on Growth, or $187.99 plus $0.065 on Premium.

Does Teachworks include a website?

No. Teachworks doesn't publish a website product, so a center using it for scheduling and billing buys its website separately.

How does Teachworks count student-lessons?

Per student, per lesson delivered. A two-student lesson counts as 2 student-lessons, and cancelled lessons don't count. A center billing 1,000 student-lessons a month on Growth pays $189 on top of the base fee.

Related businesses

Could software for tutoring centers & tutors work on your terms?

Bring one workflow or software bill to a free 30-minute conversation. We’ll map what a coding AI and affordable hosting might cover, and what ownership would require.

Practical guidance, not a promise of a cheap or maintenance-free replacement.