Software guide · Hair salons

Hair salon booking & management software

$20–$399 / monthpublished plan rates · not a complete billSee price evidence ↓

Compare salon software against your service timings, staff calendars, shared resources and client acquisition. Booksy, Square Appointments and Vagaro are documented options, with different plan structures and commercial terms. A low subscription price is only part of the cost: model locations, calendars, payments, add-ons and any marketplace fees for your actual salon.

Hair salon software needs to fit the appointment as well as the business: service durations, staff calendars, client records and checkout. A low starting price is useful only if the plan supports your actual salon workflow.

The cost case · Hair salons

What the software costs—and where your margin can improve.

Start with the bill and one costly workflow. The comparison is straightforward: recurring software costs you can actually remove, minus the hosting, AI, integrations and upkeep a replacement needs. Time saved is a separate gain, and only becomes margin when the business can use it.

Current software · researched prices

Hair salons software runs $20 to $399 a month across the 6 vendors that publish prices. A website-related price point in the research is $20 a month; check whether it is a plan rate or a separate fee. 13 of 50 vendors have quote-only pricing in our research.

Published starting prices are not a like-for-like quote. Confirm the plans, seats, add-ons, payment fees and setup your workflow requires.

A focused tool · under your control

Pay for the parts this workflow needs.

One time: map the rules, build, test edge cases, move only the data needed and train the people who use it.

Each month: affordable hosting, coding-AI usage, any database or integrations, backups and maintenance. Price these for the actual application; a $0 or low hosting tier is not the total cost.

You control: the code repository, domain, data and service accounts. Someone on your side owns updates, access, recovery and support.

MarginVendor costs removed − the replacement’s full monthly operating cost.
Admin timeFirst target: Appointment rules. Test your real mix of service durations, buffers and appointments that require staff review.
Business valueDurable, documented margin can strengthen a business; buyers still assess risk and whether someone else can run the workflow.

The exact replacement cost depends on scope and usage. Bring your invoice and one frustrating task; we’ll map what can stay, what could be owned and the costs to verify.

Get a free 30-minute cost and workflow review

What a safe switch means for hair salons

Build a service catalog and customer workspace, then staff availability, booking and reminders. Add packages or a customer portal after the core booking flow passes testing.

Use the buying and migration brief above to check records, edge cases and acceptance tests before deciding what to replace.

Vendor exit terms to include

Source-recorded terms. Confirm your own agreement and export access before planning a move.

EasyWeek

Account data is permanently deleted 30 days after cancelling.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026

GlossGenius

Cancelling the subscription ends access to the account and its data.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026

Meevo (Millennium Systems International)

Subscriptions require an annual contract.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026

Mindbody

The standard agreement starts with a 90-day initial term and then renews automatically every 30 days.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026
Other names and related business types

These terms appear in the same research category. Check your specific workflow before treating products as interchangeable.

A shortlist to investigate

Compare by the job you need done

Fit notes are our assessment of the linked vendor descriptions, not hands-on product reviews. Feature sources checked Sep 30, 2026; pricing records below retain their own dates.

Booksy (Booksy Biz)

You want to evaluate booking alongside a consumer marketplace.

Booksy lists unlimited bookings and a marketplace listing with its subscription, plus optional Boost promotion.

Before choosing

Separate your own returning clients from customers the marketplace brings in. Review promotion and payment fees.

Vendor documentation ↗

Square Appointments

You want to compare appointment management within the Square ecosystem.

Square publishes appointment plans with fees that vary by location and plan.

Before choosing

Price every location and verify booking rules, payment costs and the features your team requires.

Vendor documentation ↗

Vagaro

You need to evaluate calendars, client management and optional business features together.

Vagaro describes bookable calendars, client records and marketplace access on its US pricing page.

Before choosing

Count bookable calendars and any extra features you need. Test the customer journey before changing systems.

Vendor documentation ↗

A practical buying brief

Test the appointment, not just the calendar

Use these questions with a vendor or a builder. The point is to see your own work completed, including the awkward cases.

Questions to ask and a concrete way to test the answer
What mattersAsk thisThen demonstrate this
Color and processing timeWhen can a stylist serve another client, and when must the chair stay occupied?Build a service with active work, processing and finish time. Try another booking during each stage and verify staff and resource rules separately.
A shared room or chairCan two available staff accidentally promise the same resource?Give two staff the same service at the same time using one required room. Confirm the room constraint stops the second booking.
Repeat client versus new clientWhich clients came from your own link and which came through the marketplace?Trace an existing-client booking and a marketplace booking. Ask how each appears in fee reporting and whether optional promotion changes the cost.
Deposits and reschedulingWhat happens to a deposit when a client moves or cancels the appointment?Move a deposit-backed booking, then test a cancellation. Review the calendar, balance, notification and refund action separately.
Take these questions to your next demo.

A text checklist with space to record what works, what fails and what needs a follow-up.

Download buying checklist ↓

Your demo script

A color appointment with one shared resource

Bring this synthetic scenario to a product demo or build review. It tests your required rules; it is not a vendor performance claim.

  1. Create two stylists and one shared treatment room. Define a service with 30 minutes of active work, 45 minutes of processing and 30 minutes to finish.
  2. Book the first stylist at 10:00. Decide whether another short service is allowed during processing, and whether the first appointment still occupies a resource.
  3. Try to book the second stylist for the same required room. Staff availability should not override a room that is already reserved.
  4. Reschedule the first appointment after a deposit. Check that the client record, reminder, deposit reference and new resource reservation still refer to the same appointment.
Test staff, room and cleanup conflicts ↗

Preserve the next visit and the client relationship

Start with clients, staff, services, durations, future appointments and payment references. Request appointment notes and client history separately and confirm access controls for private notes. Keep gift-card balances, prepaid packages and deposits distinct: a customer list does not establish those liabilities. Compare a sample of upcoming appointments against the old calendar, including staff and duration, before redirecting online booking. Agree how returning clients will recognize the new booking link and whether the old marketplace still supplies valuable enquiries.

Where a first build could stop

A custom website, consultation intake or client workflow can work alongside an existing calendar. A full booking replacement needs separate work on resource conflicts, reminders, payments and migration. If the marketplace brings profitable clients, include that acquisition value in the decision instead of treating the subscription as an isolated expense.

Compare costs, recovered admin time and margin on this page →

What does the software cost?

Hair salons software runs $20 to $399 a month across the 6 vendors that publish prices. A website-related price point in the research is $20 a month; check whether it is a plan rate or a separate fee. 13 of 50 vendors have quote-only pricing in our research.

Where the money goes

Most of the bill is metering. Some platforms charge per team member: Booksy is $29.99 plus $20 per extra team member, and Mangomint is $120 per location plus $10 per user. Others charge per location and add on: Boulevard charges $65 a month for Forms on top of a $143 plan. Vagaro sells its website as a separate add-on, and we couldn't verify its current prices.

What to keep

Keep your card processing and the booking app your clients already use; that's where the payments live. If your plan already includes a booking website, as GlossGenius Standard does at $28 a month per location, the audit may tell you to leave it alone.

What to verify

Ask providers to demonstrate this workflow using your edge cases. Check which plan includes each step, what costs extra and how your records can be exported.

46 vendors and options researched for hair salons

Researched vendors and published prices

Listed A to Z, not ranked. Prices and every quoted catch come from each vendor's own pricing page or terms, linked and dated. 13 have quote-only pricing in our research.

1Acuity Scheduling (Squarespace)Squarespace-owned online appointment scheduling for beauty, wellness and service businesses.From $20/mo2BarberlyBarbershop booking app with branded app, website, kiosk check-in and walk-in queue.From $25/mo3BookedinOnline booking and scheduling software for appointment businesses, with a dedicated auto detailer page (deposits, reminders, mobile or in-shop).Free planPaid from $19/mo4Booker (by Mindbody)Spa and salon management software for day spas, hotel spas, salons, barbershops and massage studios; owned by Mindbody.From $139/mo5Booksy (Booksy Biz)Booking app and consumer marketplace for barbers, salons and beauty pros; all features in one subscription.From $29.99/mo6BoulevardClient-experience platform (booking, POS, marketing, forms/charts) for salons, spas, barbers and medspas.From $143/mo7DaySmart SalonSalon, barbershop, nail and skin-clinic software: booking, POS, payroll, marketing.From $29/mo8EasyWeekBooking system, website builder and POS for beauty salons, barbershops, nail and waxing studios.Price not verified
9

Envisager Studio

Quote only

Website design and internet marketing for hair salons, stylists and beauty salons.

Price scales with
quote; contact form asks for monthly and web design budget ranges
Website
custom design, quoted
10EnvisionNow (Envision Salon Software)Salon, spa, barbershop, beauty school and tattoo studio management software.Quote required11FreshaSalon and spa booking software with a consumer marketplace ("25+ million customers looking to book").Price not verified12GlammaticAI-powered websites, SEO, reputation, social and AI front desk for salons.From $349/mo13GlossGeniusBooking, payments, marketing and EMR software for beauty, wellness and medspa businesses.From $28/mo14GoldieScheduling and payments app for solo beauty pros and small teams (lash, hair, nails, barbers, tattoo, massage).Free planPaid from $19.99/mo15MangomintSalon and spa software: scheduling, payments/POS, online booking, forms & charting, memberships, marketing.From $120/mo16Meevo (Millennium Systems International)Salon, spa and med spa (MeevoMD) management software from Millennium Systems International.Quote required17MindbodyBusiness software plus consumer marketplace app for fitness, wellness, spa and beauty businesses (owns Booker).Price not verified
18

Moonlit Media

Quote only

Salon and stylist website design agency.

Price scales with
quote; contact form asks for monthly and web design budget ranges
Website
custom design, quoted
19NextSessioBooking and prepaid-package software for solo providers who don't rely on marketplace discovery.From $29/mo20PhorestSalon, spa and medspa software (booking, POS, PhorestPay, marketing) aimed at growing teams of 3+ staff.Quote required21Rosy Salon SoftwareCloud salon and spa software (scheduling, POS, inventory, marketing); SalonRunner is the underlying platform.From $29/mo22Salon Boss MarketingMarketing agency for salons, suites, med spas and beauty brands: websites, SEO, ads, social.From $500/mo23Salon IrisLegacy salon and spa software; its site now points to DaySmart Salon.Price not verified24SalonBizSalon software for employee-based and Aveda salons: booking, POS, commission payroll, inventory, reporting.From $160/mo25SalonInteractiveOnline store and marketing platform for beauty pros; local distributors ship retail orders and pros earn commission.Free planPaid from $10/mo26SalonistSalon and spa management software with marketplace listing, POS and booth-renter tools.Free planPaid from $59/mo27SalonScaleBackbar color-cost, formula and inventory tracking app for hair salons (works alongside any booking/POS).From $49/mo28SalonUltimate (BookedBy)All-in-one salon software for walk-in and appointment salons, chains and franchises; BookedBy runs on Clover hardware.From $69/mo
29

SchedulicityAcquired

No US price published

Scheduling app for salons, spas, tanning and wellness; now folded into Vagaro.

Price scales with
n/a (customers migrated to Vagaro pricing)
Website
Not stated
What the headline price leaves out (1)
  • Schedulicity accounts now run on Vagaro; existing customers are moved to Vagaro's pricing and terms.

    “Schedulicity is now Vagaro.”
    schedulicity.com, Sep 26, 2026
30SetmoreGeneral appointment scheduling app with booking page, reminders and payments; markets to barbershops and beauty.Free planPaid from $5/mo
31

Shortcuts Software

Quote only

Salon, barber, spa and beauty management software (Fusion) with ShortcutsPay; regions include North America.

Price scales with
unknown; no pricing page (/pricing/ returns 404), "Book demo" only
Website
Not stated
32SimpleSpaAppointment booking, POS and reminders for salons, spas and medical practices.From $10/mo33SimplyBook.meGeneral online booking system with salon/nail pages; plans by bookings, custom features and providers.Price not verified34SlottFree booking link plus AI receptionist (texts and calls) for barbers, stylists, nail, lash, tattoo and massage pros.Free planPaid from $19/mo35Square AppointmentsAppointments POS and booking for salons, spas and service businesses, built on Square payments.Free planPaid from $49/mo36StudioloopBooking software with branded client app, loyalty and AI receptionist for salons, waxing and sugaring studios.From $49/mo37StyleSeatBooking app and consumer marketplace for hairstylists, barbers, nail techs, estheticians and other personal-service pros.From $19/mo
38

The Salon Marketing

Quote only

Salon, spa and beauty marketing agency; works with one salon per city.

Price scales with
quote; /pricing/ returns 404
Website
Not stated
Contract
no annual contracts. unknown
What the headline price leaves out (1)
39

Thrive Internet Marketing Agency

Quote only

Full-service digital agency with a hair salon web design practice.

Price scales with
quote; contact form asks for monthly and web design budget ranges
Website
custom design, quoted
What the headline price leaves out (1)
40

Timely

No US price published

Salon and spa booking software (NZ-based, sells in US).

Price scales with
unknown; pricing page returns a script-only shell to urllib (28 characters of text)
Website
Not stated
41VagaroAll-in-one salon, spa, fitness and wellness software with a consumer marketplace, payments and branded app.Price not verified42VevBooking page and payments app for solo pros including lash artists; no charge for extra team members.From $9.99/mo43WellnessLivingAll-in-one booking, POS and marketing platform for fitness, wellness, spa and salon businesses.From $69/mo44YocaleScheduling, client management and forms software for beauty salons, brow & lash bars, medspas and clinics.From $49/mo45Zenoti"Zenoti OS" plus "AI Workforce" for salons, spas, medspas, fitness and barbershops, single-location to enterprise.Quote required
46

Zoca

Quote only

AI marketing agents (discovery/SEO, front desk, engage, loyalty) with free booking and payments for salons, spas and med spas.

Price scales with
base plan + add-on AI agents; prices not published
Website
"Mobile website built by AI" in base plan
Setup
"No setup fees"
Contract
monthly. "Cancel anytime"
What the headline price leaves out (1)
  • Plan prices are not published; the pricing page leads to a demo.

    “Get booked Add agents as you grow your starting point Get found. Get the conversation started. Book a demo”
    zoca.com, Sep 26, 2026

Specialist agencies in this business category

These agencies appear in the business-category research but do not yet have a full software pricing profile. Rates are shown only when verified from the provider's own source.

Questions owners ask

How should salon software handle processing time?

Treat staff availability and resource availability separately. During color processing, a stylist may be available for another service while a chair or room is still occupied. Test the active, processing and finish stages on your actual plan instead of relying on a generic scheduling feature label.

Can I move salon bookings without losing deposits or client history?

That depends on the export and payment arrangements. Verify future appointments, client history, deposit references, prepaid packages and gift-card balances separately. Reconcile a sample against the old system before changing the public booking link, and agree which historical records remain in an archive.

What software can manage hair salon bookings?

Booksy, Square Appointments and Vagaro are documented options to investigate. Compare your staff calendars, service rules, payments and client records on the specific plan you would buy.

Should a salon build its own booking system?

An existing booking system may already handle the difficult parts well. First test whether a custom website or intake flow can solve the gap while the calendar, reminders and payments stay with the current provider.

How much does salon booking software cost?

Published prices range widely. GlossGenius starts at $28 a month per location with unlimited staff. Booksy is $29.99 plus $20 per additional team member. Acuity runs $20, $34 or $61 by calendar count, and Boulevard starts at $143 per location for up to 5 providers.

Does GlossGenius include a website?

Yes. The Standard plan, $28 a month per location, includes a Custom Booking Website and unlimited team members.

Why does Boulevard cost more than the headline price?

Add-ons and caps. Essentials is $143 a month per location for up to 5 providers, Forms is $65 a month more and QuickBooks integration is $45. A sixth stylist means moving up to Premier, currently $234.

Related businesses

Could software for hair salons work on your terms?

Bring one workflow or software bill to a free 30-minute conversation. We’ll map what a coding AI and affordable hosting might cover, and what ownership would require.

Practical guidance, not a promise of a cheap or maintenance-free replacement.