Software guide · Tattoo & piercing studios

Tattoo studio software: consultations, deposits, consent and artist calendars

$69 / monthworked example · $828 per yearSee cost & ownership ↓

Tattoo work often begins with an enquiry and design discussion, then a deposit and one or more sessions with a specific artist. Compare software by tracing that project through reference images, consultation notes, consent, reschedules and final payment. For a studio, also test shared scheduling, walk-ins, guest artists and appropriate record access.

Tattoo work often begins with an enquiry and design discussion, then a deposit and one or more sessions with a specific artist. Compare software by tracing that project through reference images, consultation notes, consent, reschedules and final payment. For a studio, also test shared scheduling, walk-ins, guest artists and appropriate record access.

The cost case · Tattoo & piercing studios

What the software costs—and where your margin can improve.

Start with the bill and one costly workflow. The comparison is straightforward: recurring software costs you can actually remove, minus the hosting, AI, integrations and upkeep a replacement needs. Time saved is a separate gain, and only becomes margin when the business can use it.

Current software · researched prices

$69/ month

$828 a year in this worked example

Five-artist street shop, one piercer, wants online deposits, consent forms and a portfolio site

  • Tattoo Studio Pro Crew (up to 5 active team members, website hosting included)$69/mo

See the vendor’s published price ↗

A source-priced scenario, not a claim about your invoice. Check required modules, usage fees and your negotiated terms.

A focused tool · under your control

Pay for the parts this workflow needs.

One time: map the rules, build, test edge cases, move only the data needed and train the people who use it.

Each month: affordable hosting, coding-AI usage, any database or integrations, backups and maintenance. Price these for the actual application; a $0 or low hosting tier is not the total cost.

You control: the code repository, domain, data and service accounts. Someone on your side owns updates, access, recovery and support.

MarginVendor costs removed − the replacement’s full monthly operating cost.
Admin timeFirst target: Design enquiry and reference. Create a fictional enquiry with several images and two contacts; inspect image access and version history after an approved design update.
Business valueDurable, documented margin can strengthen a business; buyers still assess risk and whether someone else can run the workflow.

The exact replacement cost depends on scope and usage. Bring your invoice and one frustrating task; we’ll map what can stay, what could be owned and the costs to verify.

Get a free 30-minute cost and workflow review

What a safe switch means for tattoo & piercing studios

Build a service catalog and customer workspace, then staff availability, booking and reminders. Add packages or a customer portal after the core booking flow passes testing.

Use the buying and migration brief above to check records, edge cases and acceptance tests before deciding what to replace.

Vendor exit terms to include

Source-recorded terms. Confirm your own agreement and export access before planning a move.

GlossGenius

Cancelling the subscription ends access to the account and its data.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026

InkBook

Advertised $19 and $59 prices require annual billing; monthly is $29 and $79.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026

Keep The Fees

Cancelling requires 30 days' notice.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026

Vagaro

The free card reader carries a $10/mo rental fee unless $1,000/mo is processed, a 12-month minimum and a $150 early cancellation fee.

Vendor source ↗Recorded Sep 26, 2026
Other names and related business types

These terms appear in the same research category. Check your specific workflow before treating products as interchangeable.

A shortlist to investigate

Compare by the job you need done

Fit notes are our assessment of the linked vendor descriptions, not hands-on product reviews. Feature sources checked Oct 2, 2026; pricing records below retain their own dates.

linework

An independent tattooer or multi-artist studio comparing consultations, deposits, forms and artist calendars.

Linework describes tattoo-specific scheduling, payments, consent forms, aftercare instructions and shared studio calendars.

Before choosing

Run a consultation that becomes a multi-session booking, then test deposit transfer, consent delivery and a guest artist’s permission boundary.

Vendor documentation ↗

tattool

A tattoo studio comparing booking records, artist access, consent, payments and ink tracking.

TatTool describes a booking record that can connect client, artist, location, reference notes, payments, forms and activity.

Before choosing

Test artist-level calendar access, consent edits, client file export and the exact record retained after a reschedule or refund.

Vendor documentation ↗

Fresha

A beauty or tattoo operator comparing online booking, appointment payments and client management.

Fresha offers appointment booking and business management across beauty and wellness categories.

Before choosing

Verify tattoo-specific consultation, long-session deposits, consent forms and aftercare workflows; do not assume a generic beauty setup is sufficient.

Vendor documentation ↗

A practical buying brief

Keep the design request, appointment and signed consent together

Use these questions with a vendor or a builder. The point is to see your own work completed, including the awkward cases.

Questions to ask and a concrete way to test the answer
What mattersAsk thisThen demonstrate this
Design enquiry and referenceCan ideas, reference images, placement and artist discussion remain attached to the correct client and project?Create a fictional enquiry with several images and two contacts; inspect image access and version history after an approved design update.
Deposit and session seriesCan a deposit apply to the right design and future sessions, including a client reschedule?Take a deposit, schedule two sessions and move one; reconcile retained credit, refund eligibility and artist availability.
Consent and client privacyCan staff send the correct form and retain signed date, version and authorized access?Send a fictional consent form before the session and check that unsigned status blocks completion and only the right artist sees responses.
Multi-artist operationsCan guest artists, walk-ins, room or station availability and commissions be managed independently?Add a guest artist for a day, accept a walk-in and verify shared resources, payment ownership and restricted client-history access.
Take these questions to your next demo.

A text checklist with space to record what works, what fails and what needs a follow-up.

Download buying checklist ↓

Your demo script

Follow a design from enquiry through a second session

Use this synthetic example as a repeatable acceptance test. It is not a claim that any named vendor has been tested.

  1. Capture a fictional tattoo enquiry with reference images, placement, scope and preferred artist.
  2. Approve a design consultation and collect a deposit toward a two-session booking.
  3. Send the correct consent form, record its signed version and restrict the note to authorized staff.
  4. Reschedule the second session, transfer the deposit per written policy and issue the final receipt and aftercare message.

Plan a controlled data move

Transfer client contacts, consent forms and versions, design references, consultation history, deposits and unapplied balances, upcoming sessions, artist assignments, aftercare records and required retention dates. Export a sample record with images and signatures and confirm the studio can retrieve it after a client or artist relationship ends.

Where a first build could stop

Booking software does not establish informed consent, assess medical suitability or replace infection-prevention and licensing requirements. Artists and studio owners must follow applicable health rules, professional practices and privacy requirements.

Compare costs, recovered admin time and margin on this page →

What does the software cost?

For tattoo & piercing studios, our worked example runs $69 a month, which is $828 a year. A website-related price point in the research is $10 a month; check whether it is a plan rate or a separate fee. 11 of 28 vendors have quote-only pricing in our research.

See the worked example: Five-artist street shop, one piercer, wants online deposits, consent forms and a portfolio site
Software auditTattoo & piercing studios

Five-artist street shop, one piercer, wants online deposits, consent forms and a portfolio site

  1. Tattoo Studio Pro Crew (up to 5 active team members, website hosting included)$69/moKeep
Per month$69
Per year$828
Prices from tattoostudiopro.com

Where the money goes

Tattoo software is priced by headcount: Tattoo Studio Pro runs $29 for a solo artist, $69 for up to five and $119 for up to ten. The site comes with the subscription, and keeping it live after you cancel is $10 a month. For many shops the harder problem is the merchant account behind deposits, not the software fee.

What to keep

At $69 a month for five artists with the site included, there's little to cut, and the audit may say keep it. What we'd check is whether you own your portfolio, domain and client records if you ever leave.

What to verify

Ask providers to demonstrate this workflow using your edge cases. Check which plan includes each step, what costs extra and how your records can be exported.

20 vendors and options researched for tattoo & piercing studios

Researched vendors and published prices

Listed A to Z, not ranked. Prices and every quoted catch come from each vendor's own pricing page or terms, linked and dated. 11 have quote-only pricing in our research.

1Acuity Scheduling (Squarespace)Squarespace-owned online appointment scheduling for beauty, wellness and service businesses.From $20/mo
2

Anolla

Quote only

European AI-based booking marketplace and software; markets tattoo and waxing studio booking.

Price scales with
per confirmed job fee + optional paid modules (rates not published on pricing page)
Website
Not stated
What the headline price leaves out (1)
  • Joining is free but Anolla charges a fee on each confirmed job; the rate is not stated on the pricing page.

    “For service providers, joining is free. A fee applies only after the job is confirmed.”
    anolla.com, Sep 26, 2026
3BookedinOnline booking and scheduling software for appointment businesses, with a dedicated auto detailer page (deposits, reminders, mobile or in-shop).Free planPaid from $19/mo4Booksy (Booksy Biz)Booking app and consumer marketplace for barbers, salons and beauty pros; all features in one subscription.From $29.99/mo5EnvisionNow (Envision Salon Software)Salon, spa, barbershop, beauty school and tattoo studio management software.Quote required6FreshaSalon and spa booking software with a consumer marketplace ("25+ million customers looking to book").Price not verified7GlossGeniusBooking, payments, marketing and EMR software for beauty, wellness and medspa businesses.From $28/mo8GoldieScheduling and payments app for solo beauty pros and small teams (lash, hair, nails, barbers, tattoo, massage).Free planPaid from $19.99/mo9InkBookBooking page, intake forms and Stripe deposit collection for tattoo artists and studios.Free planPaid from $29/mo
10

InkDesk

Quote only

Tattoo booking, waivers and deposits app (demo UI shows Canadian dollars).

Price scales with
not published on homepage
Website
Not stated
11Keep The FeesTattoo studio software (booking, waivers, splits, payroll) bundled with "zero-fee" card processing.From $69.99/mo12MangomintSalon and spa software: scheduling, payments/POS, online booking, forms & charting, memberships, marketing.From $120/mo13PorterAll-in-one studio management for tattoo artists and shops: booking, deposits, payments, marketing, payouts.From $35/mo14ROXO HubBooking, waivers, payments and website for tattoo, PMU, lash, barbers and other appointment businesses.From $39.99/mo15SlottFree booking link plus AI receptionist (texts and calls) for barbers, stylists, nail, lash, tattoo and massage pros.Free planPaid from $19/mo16Square AppointmentsAppointments POS and booking for salons, spas and service businesses, built on Square payments.Free planPaid from $49/mo17Tattoo Studio ProTattoo and piercing studio software: booking, deposits, digital forms, POS, portfolios, websites.From $29/mo
18

TattooClientNo longer operating

No US price published

Former tattoo studio booking software named in 2026 listicles.

Price scales with
n/a
Website
Not stated
19VagaroAll-in-one salon, spa, fitness and wellness software with a consumer marketplace, payments and branded app.Price not verified20Venue InkBooking, deposits and payments app built for tattoo artists; free plans funded by per-payment fees.Free planPaid from $50/mo

Specialist agencies in this business category

These agencies appear in the business-category research but do not yet have a full software pricing profile. Rates are shown only when verified from the provider's own source.

Tatwoo

Price basis: Custom marketing proposal for tattoo artists and studios

Quote requiredChecked Oct 2, 2026
Source ↗

Tattoo Marketers

Price basis: Quoted marketing and website services for tattoo studios and expos

Quote requiredChecked Oct 3, 2026
Source ↗

Brand Buzzed

Price basis: Quoted SEO, paid ads, web design and booking systems for tattoo studios

Quote requiredChecked Oct 3, 2026
Source ↗

InkAdmin

Price basis: unpublished project or campaign pricing

Quote requiredChecked Oct 3, 2026
Source ↗

io tattoos

Price basis: unpublished project or campaign pricing

Quote requiredChecked Oct 3, 2026
Source ↗

Questions owners ask

What should tattoo artists test in booking software?

Use a design enquiry with reference images, a consultation, deposit, multi-session booking, signed consent, reschedule and aftercare note. Check permissions and export.

Can salon booking software work for a tattoo studio?

It might support appointments and payments, but verify tattoo-specific design intake, deposit carry-forward, signed consent, long sessions and artist-level data access.

How much does tattoo shop software cost?

Tattoo Studio Pro runs $29 a month for one artist, $69 for up to five, $119 for up to ten and $299 for up to 25. Paying yearly costs less: the five-artist Crew plan is $579 a year.

Does Tattoo Studio Pro include a website?

Yes, the website is included with your subscription. If the subscription lapses, keeping the site live costs $10 a month.

Can a tattoo shop take deposits online?

Yes, but your payment processor has to accept tattoo shops, and that's the part to sort out first. Once you have a merchant account, deposits can be collected through your booking form when a client requests a slot.

Related businesses

Could software for tattoo & piercing studios work on your terms?

Bring one workflow or software bill to a free 30-minute conversation. We’ll map what a coding AI and affordable hosting might cover, and what ownership would require.

Practical guidance, not a promise of a cheap or maintenance-free replacement.